Foreclosed homes MN — Minnesota foreclosures by county, sheriff sale list
Foreclosed homes MN searchers want a list; Minnesota foreclosures happen county by county, so this page is the statewide list first and the explanation second. Minnesota foreclosure homes reach buyers the same way everywhere in the state: a sheriff's sale, then a redemption period. What differs is how many there are, where they are, and how each county tells you. This page is built from the sheriff sale lists Govire collects from Minnesota counties, matched to parcel and recorder records, and the numbers on it are dated.
Minnesota foreclosures right now#
Figures as of September 16, 2026, last twelve months.
| Sheriff's sales tracked | 1,725 |
| Counties with tracked sales | 28 |
| Properties still in their redemption window | 1,007 |
| Sales with a county-stated redemption period | 1,053 |
| Counties with a full twelve months of data | 4 (Hennepin, Anoka, Dakota, Washington) |
The fourth line is the important caveat. Hennepin, Anoka, Dakota and Washington have been tracked for a year. The other 24 counties came online in June and July 2026, when Govire began collecting the statutory foreclosure notices published across the state, so their counts cover roughly three months, not twelve. A county showing two sales below is not a county with two foreclosures a year; it is a county Govire started watching in July.
Foreclosed homes in MN by county: the sheriff sale list#
| County | Sheriff's sales tracked | In redemption now | Publishes redemption date? | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hennepin | 975 | 523 | Yes, every record | Full year |
| Anoka | 253 | 184 | No | Full year |
| Washington | 216 | 130 | Some records | Full year |
| Dakota | 166 | 57 | No | Full year, with gaps |
| St. Louis (Duluth) | 20 | 20 | Some | Since June 2026 |
| Cass | 8 | 8 | Some | Since June 2026 |
| Itasca | 8 | 8 | Some | Since July 2026 |
| Sherburne | 7 | 7 | Some | Since July 2026 |
| Chisago | 7 | 5 | Some | Since 2026 |
| Olmsted (Rochester) | 7 | 7 | No | Since July 2026 |
| Steele | 6 | 6 | Some | Since June 2026 |
| Carver | 6 | 6 | Some | Since June 2026 |
| Morrison | 5 | 5 | Some | Since June 2026 |
| Rice | 5 | 5 | Some | Since June 2026 |
| Isanti | 4 | 4 | Some | Since July 2026 |
| Ramsey (St. Paul) | 3 | 3 | Yes | No county feed; see below |
| Yellow Medicine | 3 | 3 | Some | Since July 2026 |
| Fillmore, Roseau, Pennington, Mille Lacs, Waseca | 2 each | 2 each | Mixed | Since mid-2026 |
| Le Sueur, Todd, Martin, Scott, Pine, Redwood | 1 each | 1 each | Mixed | Since mid-2026 |
Ten further foreclosures MN notices are tracked that did not state a county cleanly enough to assign; they are counted in the total and not in the table.
The current MN foreclosure listings, sale by sale with city, sale date, opening bid and redemption expiry, are at govire.com/data, where the list can be filtered to one county or searched across all of them. That is the closest thing Minnesota has to a single list of houses in foreclosure in MN, and it includes foreclosed homes for sale MN buyers will not find on the MLS because the property has not reached the market yet.
The Ramsey County gap in MN foreclosures#
St. Paul is the second-largest city in the state and the biggest hole in Minnesota foreclosure data. The Ramsey County Sheriff does not publish a machine-readable list of sales, and the three Ramsey sales in the table above came from statutory notices, not from the county. Any site claiming complete Ramsey County foreclosure listings is claiming something the county does not make possible. Govire shows what it can verify and says so; what Saint Paul does publish, and keeps current, is its vacant building register, which is the basis of the St Paul foreclosures and vacant buildings page.
How Minnesota foreclosures work#
Nearly every Minnesota foreclosure is by advertisement. The lender does not sue. Its law firm publishes a notice of the sale in a qualified newspaper once a week for six weeks, serves the occupants, and the property is sold at a public auction run by the county sheriff. Because it skips the courts, the process is fast: a property can go from first missed payment to sheriff's sale in a few months, one of the shortest foreclosure timelines in the country. The stages, with how long each takes, are in the Minnesota foreclosure timeline.
Minnesota foreclosure laws also allow foreclosure by action, an actual lawsuit, but it is the rare path, used mostly where title is disputed. In a by-action case the redemption clock starts at the court's confirmation of the sale, not the auction date.
The redemption period: what "foreclosed" means in Minnesota#
A winning bid on a foreclosed homes MN auction buys a certificate, not a house. Minnesota Statute 580.23 gives the former owner a redemption period, six months by default, to pay the winning bid plus interest and costs and keep the property, and the owner usually keeps living there while the window is open. The 1,007 properties in redemption above are 1,007 Minnesota foreclosed homes whose ownership is not yet settled.
The period is twelve months when the amount owed at the time of the notice was less than two-thirds of the original mortgage, or when the property is agricultural and over ten acres. It is five weeks when a court finds the property abandoned under Statute 582.032, or when the owner postponed the sale under Statute 580.07. Some federally backed loans carry no redemption at all.
Which rule applies to a given sale is the single most consequential fact about it, and only Hennepin County publishes it. For every other county, Govire reads the period from the foreclosure notice where the notice states it, and otherwise computes the six-month default and labels the date as an estimate. If a deadline matters to you, the certificate of sale at the county sheriff's office is the place to confirm it.
How often Minnesota owners redeem foreclosed properties#
Govire follows every redemption window it opens until the county recorder shows the outcome. Across 319 resolved Minnesota windows, 109 ended with the owner redeeming: 34.2%. The rate varies by county, from Washington's 24.2% to Hennepin's 38.8%, and in Hennepin it varies sharply with how the winning bid compared to the home's value: owners redeemed 58% of the time when the bid was under half of market value and 20% of the time when it was over 80%.
For a buyer at an MN foreclosure auction, that is the chance the certificate never becomes a deed. For an owner, it is evidence that a sheriff's sale is not the end when there is equity left to protect.
Buying foreclosed homes in Minnesota at an MN foreclosure auction: what to know#
- Payment is immediate. The winning bidder pays in full, in certified funds, at the sale. There is no financing afterward.
- You usually cannot inspect first. Properties are sold as-is on the information in the notice.
- You are buying a certificate. It becomes a deed only if the owner does not redeem, and about a third of them do. Plan on the money being tied up for the full period.
- Other liens can survive. The sale clears the foreclosing mortgage. Property taxes, and in some cases other liens, do not.
- Confirm the redemption date. Outside Hennepin, the county record usually does not state it.
- Approaching an owner during redemption is regulated. Chapter 325N governs what a buyer may say and do. Govire does not buy properties and does not contact owners.
Minnesota tax forfeited land: the other kind of foreclosure#
Mortgage foreclosure is one of two ways a Minnesota property becomes distressed. The other is property tax delinquency, which runs on a longer clock: unpaid taxes lead to a tax judgment, then to forfeiture to the state, then to a county auction of tax forfeited land. It is a separate process under separate statutes, and since the 2023 Tyler v. Hennepin County decision the owner is owed any surplus when a forfeited parcel sells for more than the tax debt. The Minnesota tax-forfeited land guide covers it, and the Minnesota delinquent property tax list page shows the stage before forfeiture with county counts — 3,113 Hennepin parcels behind, 813 of them three years or more.
Minnesota foreclosure records: where the data comes from#
The sales on this page come from county sheriff's office foreclosure sale records where a county publishes them, and from the statutory foreclosure notices published under Chapter 580 where it does not, collected on a schedule and matched to county parcel records. Redemption outcomes come from county recorders. Where Govire estimates rather than reads a figure, the page and the underlying record say so. Govire does not buy properties, is not anyone's agent, and takes no part in any sale.
See the current Minnesota foreclosure listings →
County guides:
- Hennepin County foreclosures
- Minneapolis foreclosures
- Anoka County foreclosures
- Dakota County foreclosures
- Washington County foreclosures
- Rochester and Olmsted County foreclosures
- Duluth and St. Louis County foreclosures
- St Paul and Ramsey County foreclosures and vacant buildings
Related guides: